It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (eg: dinosaur, dodo,...). There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Some individuals think that the extinction of animals is natural hence there is no need to stop this phenomenon. But I totally disagree with this statement because activities like poaching are clearly causative and preventing their extinction means conserving the species for future generations. These factors and more are discussed in the essay below. First and foremost, one cannot say animal species are disappearing naturally because there is a lot of actions that can be signposted as causing their disappearance. Such activities as deforestation and poaching are not natural at all and deserve legislation. For example, many elephant disappearances in Kenya and Zimbabwe are continuously reported by the media to be the result of nefarious poachers gunning them down to gain wealth illegally. Secondly, there is every reason, further still, to try to prevent species such as the dinosaur, dodo and pangolin from becoming extinct. This is not only critical because sometimes there are guilty parties in their extinction but doing so also ensures that the future generation of humans will get to see and experience them. For instance, this is why pangolins, dodos and the like are placed in the high protection zones of most countries' environmental management agencies. Conclusively, I completely disagree with both the notion that animal disappearance is a natural phenomenon and the consequent imagination from the wider populace that, therefore, there is no need to explore protective measures against this. The fact that people do criminal activities like poaching is reason enough to engage in animal protection, not to mention the conservation benefits associated with doing so.