Some people believe that teachers should be responsible for teaching students the difference between right and wornd. Others say that teachers should only teach academic subjects. Discuss both viewpoints and give our own opinion.

The issues surrounding education have always been debatable topics for educators and learners. Opinions are divided on whether the education system should only focus on delivering ethical lessons, especially in distinguishing between right and wrong, or should the teaching be mainly about academic matters. I am inclined towards the idea that both ethical and academic knowledge are crucial to students’ development, in a sense that knowing what is right or wrong leads to better decision-making in life and academic subjects will significantly improve ones’ critical thinking. On the one hand, offering ‘civic’ lessons throughout years of education help juveniles choose the best options in various stages of their lives. For instance, from high school I learnt about the detrimental effects of smoking cigarettes and becoming addicted to it would incur risks to the smokers and the surrounding people alike. Since then, I have always refused any tobacco products because I have acknowledged that smoking is a wrongful choice. Therefore, teaching ethical lessons allows students to have a clear perception in choosing what is right and wrong in real life in order to make more sensible decisions. On the other hand, academic units have always been taught from elementary school until university because they help students’ cognitive development. Subjects such as arithmetics manifest the ability in problem-solving and critical thinking. Literature, drawing and singing lessons enhance creativity and sometimes learners can discover their inner talents. Moreover, there are physical education classes to ensure the youngsters maintain a fit, healthy body to achieve better class performance. As a result, these merits obtained from learning these subjects are subsequently beneficial for students in the future. In conclusion, both academic and civic lessons hold certain aspects of importance in students’ overall intellect. I entirely believe that a human being must adopt both knowledges from academic subjects and ethical matters in order to fully develop in thinking and contribute to society.