In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In recent years, there has been a dramatic increase in the number of people buying their own homes as it becomes indispensable to have their own house. There are a number of reasons why this is happening. In this essay, I will depict them and explain why the drawbacks of this trend outweigh its benefits. The most telling reason why having one ’s own place to live is a sense of security of a safe place so that residents can live without fear of eviction. Not only can one save monthly rent money, but they can also make any changes to the interior and exterior without consulting with landlords and agents. In addition, most people with their own homes can rent their spare portion of the house, which might play a key role in yielding an extra income and assisting with mortgage payments. Besides, owning a home is a form of asset, which guarantees profit in future if individuals are willing to sell. Needless to say, all these merits stand in good stead when it comes to justifying owning a property. Notwithstanding the aforementioned proposition, having one ’s own home is not without its concerns. The primary one stems from the fact that the majority of people use the mortgage system to buy houses, which is a long-term monthly instalment, the financial liability to pay these monthly instalments is enormous. Apart from this, the upfront payment for a mortgage contract could be huge, which could definitely affect one ’s savings. Last but not least, having one own’s home does not sound appealing to public. For example, individuals who need to move from one city to another due to the nature of their job and renting your home means maintenance on regular basis as well as the constant fear of tenants’ occupation of the house. Apparently, the disadvantages of owning a home are far greater than the advantages. In conclusion, what has been discussed, one cannot only identify the reasons for the popularity of owning a property but also understand why the benefits of this trend are no match of its drawbacks.