Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent decades, more and more adults choose to play computer games when they have spare time. This essay will suggest the reasons for this situation and explain why it is a negative phenomenon. On the one hand, there are two reasons for this development. The main reason is that adults think it is a good way to relax after their hectic work. Many workers have to work from dawn to dusk, so it is difficult for them to go outside for entertainment. They just want to genuinely relax when there is a holiday or when they have free time, so they will choose to play video games. Another reason is that they would like to escape from the stress of life. Employees always face pressure in their office, for instance, they may be scolded by the managers or bullied by other colleagues. They may not have the chance to release stress in normal life, so they will choose to play some violent video games and destress from everyday life. On the other hand, there are two reasons why it is a negative development. Firstly, it reduces real-life interactions. As people are addicted to video games, they may be reluctant to get involved in other social activities. They may choose to stay at home rather than going out with friends and families. They involve in less face to face direct communication with others and this will negatively affects the relationships between people. Moreover, it will badly affect people's health. As they spend their whole day in front of the computer, they may suffer from health problems like back pain and short sight. To conclude, adults play computer games because they would like to relax and release stress. However, it will negatively affect public's relationships and health.