Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, it is common in some countries to import food from other countries instead of cultivating them by their own. In my perspective, this is a positive trend. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I shall explain my point of view and give supporting reasons for my idea. To begin with, the main reason why some countries choose to import food is the weather and geographical situation. Some foods like nuts need dry and cold weather which is not possible for every country to cultivate them so there is no way except importing them Because if they want to prepare these criteria, they have to use high technology which needs a lot of money. As a result, it is more economical to import them. Besides that, high amount of water is needed for cultivating some fruits and foods like watermelons and crops. In addition, some countries even don’t have good soil for cultivating them. For example, in some countries like Emirates or Saudi Arabia it is impossible to cultivate in the vast part of the country because the soil doesn’t have enough nutrients. However, it is true that some times it is more economical to produce these food products or fruits in our country but it can’t be ignored that the value of all the things we need to prepare for some foods are more than the price we sell so it is better to import them from other parts of the world. To sum up, I would argue that importing some kind of foods from other countries is a positive trend because of the reasons mentioned in this essay.