Today, people are getting greedy and selfish. Some people argue that we should go back the old days and show respect for the family and community, so that we can make the world a better place to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial statement heating a debate over whether settlers in this day and age are becoming more insatiable and self-centred compared to the past. It is argued that we ought to return to the conventional ways of honouring family and community. Personally, I would consider myself a proponent of this notion since it is the most effective way to form a better world for people to dwell in. Without a shadow of a doubt, family is treated with more respect by previous generations than it is by the current generation. To be specific, in former times, whenever the pressing problems come up, the first one people turned to was their beloved members and relatives, who were not only willing to help immediately but also brought about sentimental and tangible benefits. In other words, sharing and caring were given unconditionally to each member and they were eager for providing prompt encouragement in order to boost people ’s confidence to confront the problems. On the contrary, the current generation leads a more independent lifestyle, which means sharing is far rarer than in the old days. Indeed, they often have a tendency to blame for the misunderstandings and generation gap of predecessors. Undeniably, radical alterations in attitudes towards family can cause severe consequences, especially the breakdown of family solidarity. Therefore, reviving the bygone attitudes towards beloved members is of significance. Besides, preceding generations contribute to the community much more than the current generation. In fact, back in the old days, people live in a community that others' benefits were taken into concern and almost every action was done for the sake of others. In stark contrast, so greedy are people for the time being that they may engage in illegitimate activities for their own profit expansion. For example, merchants earn handsome incomes from producing the disqualified products and cajoling customers to purchase them even though they do not need them. Nevertheless, they refuse to plough back a fraction of their revenues to the association's benefits such as charity, helping homeless people or enhancing the condition of slums. Consequently, the solidarity of the community is dismantled due to overwhelming egotism. In conclusion, it is of my strong belief that greed and individualism do both families and society a disservice so it is vital for people to avoid further loss of household solidarity and community unity by reconstructing the concept of family and community like what members of the society in the previous generation used to do with a view to erecting a better world for ordinary citizens to settle in.