Every year several languages die out. Some people think that is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that the number of languages around the globe is diminishing every year. While the rising popularity of English and the ease of life associated with it make people think that the extinction of some smaller languages is not something to worry about, I strongly oppose this assumption. In my opinion, there are two negative aspects of this development such as the cultural values and the practical ones. On the one hand, there are cultural aspects in tandem with the obliteration of languages in danger as each language has an inextricable relationship with a part of human culture and presents long-term history. Moreover, every language carries its own cultural code, which encrypts both the psychology and philosophy of a nation’s spirit. For example, through the languages, one can study not only the culture of a particular ethnicity, but also its economic and social achievements. As a result, when a language died somewhere on the planet, we lose a part of human nature. On the other hand, people cannot underestimate the practical side stemming from the usage of a single international language such as international trade, economic relations, tourism, and medicine. However, there are practical values stemming from the use of rare languages. For instance, the US army widely used some of the dying Indian languages to secure information processes between the army’s units. Therefore, there are some practical values in keeping the disappearing languages alive. To sum up, while it is undeniable that the more and more popular usage of English has many merits in people’s life, it is extremely vital to preserve smaller languages because the extinction of some minor languages could worsen the world civilization and deprive it of many practical benefits.