Shops should not be allowed to sell any food and drinks that has been scientifically proved to be bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some suggest that governments should prohibit all unhealthy food in the market to ensure everyone lives a healthy life. However, I disagree with this idea because the policy is impractical and can have a negative effect on both people and society. Although imposing a ban on food that can damage consumers' health can eliminate all the unwholesome food from supermarkets and grocery stores, people are still not guaranteed to develop healthy dietary habits. Individuals who are into fried food or extra oil and sugar can still cook by themselves and enjoy homemade junk food. Moreover, compared to unhealthy food, wholesome food such as organic meat and vegetables tend to be very pricy, which can cause a budget crisis to the poor or waste their time cooking low-budget meals. Furthermore, banning unhealthy food can cause social instability or even chaos. Specifically, a large proportion of packaged edibles contain preservatives and additives that can worsen customers' health conditions or shorten their life expectancy. Removing those products from the market can make thousands of manufacturers go bankrupt and millions of workers unemployed. Thus, the economy would remain stagnant or even go backwards. What is worse, entrepreneurs and labourers who feel unfair or can no longer make a living might develop resentment towards policymakers or protest against authorities, which can cause social unrest. Based on the above evidence and analyses, simply forbidding all unhealthy food is not a viable way to help citizens' develop a wholesome dietary habit, and it can also adversely affect both people and society. Therefore, governments should encourage people to eat healthily through more practical and gentler alternatives.