Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released. Why is this case? What can be done to solve this problem?

The study which was done recently has shown that some crimes are committed by those who had already been in prison before and the vast majority of such people are likely to do it again. This essay will discuss the reasons for this phenomenon and it will then address the question of how this issue might be solved. The most common reason for recidivism by ex-prisoners is the inability to socialize in a new community. To be more precise, society seems to not accept those who have committed a crime even if it was insignificant with refusal to employ by employers or rejection by relatives and friends. Due to all these factors, those who are released probably might think that the easiest way to sustain their lives or just survive is to re-offend in order to return to the familiar society of people like them. Another cause is related to the psychological side. For example, there are ex-prisoners who have enough funds and opportunities to resume their lives without violating the law; however, due to their nature and the style of life they might continue to commit crimes. There are several solutions to this problem both at an individual and political level. The first is to create government programs for rehabilitation and re-integration of newly released convicts. For example, there was a project in Kyrgyzstan where ex-prisoners were trained in the basics of entrepreneurship and won 4 thousand of dollars for the construction of a sewing workshop. Another way to reduce the number of recidivism is to change an individual’s mindset. It can be done by understanding that some of the convicts should have a second chance for changes. In conclusion, if these ways are put into action, the number of re-offends might be decreased and it depends on the attitude of individuals, especially relatives of those who are released and the actions of authorities.