Some people say that punishment is the best way to teach children to behave well is to punish them. Others argue that rewarding and praising is a better way to teach them the difference between right and wrong. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are clashing opinions regarding the best way to teach kids to behave appropriately. While one group of people asserts that punishment is the best solution to that, others maintain that prize and commendation are the more effective way for that. I believe that parents should combine these two approaches if they want to see the best results. Firstly, advocates of the first view think that the most efficient approach to lecture children on how to be on their best behaviour is to chastise them. Although some people find this type of parenting harsh, it is proven that when punishing someone you are putting the thought in their mind that they did something unacceptable and they should not repeat it. For example, when I was 10 years old, I went to play with my friend outside without asking my mother for permission, as, result my mother was so worried, because she could not find me in the house, she grounded me for 3 weeks and after,that I never went outside the house without asking my parents first. Nevertheless, there are people who think that the most suitable way to discipline your youngster is to give them praise or to reward them. This is a modern practice for teaching children to act correctly, especially because it is known that motivation is needed if you want to learn something new, thus rewarding and commending children are as giving them the motivation to learn and apply something new. For instance, when my little cousin, who is 7 years old, behaves polite, his parents always tell him that he is a good boy and he thinks that he should be acting like a good boy in order to get more appraisement. To conclude, there will always be different opinions when it comes to parenting and teaching children how to behave. Personally, I think that parents could use both styles of parenting and implement them depending on the situation.