Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children?

In our modern world, video games are played by a large number of young individuals. It has various advantages, including but not limited to developed computer skills and better hand-eye coordination, as well as some drawbacks, such as the transformation of this hobby into an addiction. On the one hand, children who are engaged with video games tend to improve their computer skills, which are very important nowadays. Knowing how to use a computer is crucial for education and work. For example, students are given some tasks at school that require using computers, like preparing presentations or making some informational tables. Additionally, children can enhance their cognitive abilities by playing computer games because it leads to improved problem-solving, faster decision-making, and better hand-eye coordination. They can also boost social skills through multiplayer games and foster creativity. Playing with friends makes them more sociable. On the other hand, even though playing video games may seem harmless, it sometimes becomes an addiction. Children know nothing but sitting behind the screen and playing games. They tend to find other ways of entertainment tedious and time-wasting. Additionally, this activity has a destructive effect on the eyesight, especially of young people, because their eyes are more vulnerable to the light emitted from the screen. For instance, statistics show that a lot more parents now contact medical institutions with the same problem that their children ’s eyesight is damaged. The main reason for this is too many hours spent on the screen. In conclusion, playing computer games has both beneficial and detrimental effects. Children should not be restricted from playing at all, of course; however, some measures need to be taken in order to limit the time they spend on this activity.