Most people do not care enough about environmental issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued by some that a majority of people worldwide do not considerably emphasize on environmental catastrophes caused by human activities. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this notion. At present, a soaring number of governments implement policies related to environment protection and natural resources preservation, which I believe is an obvious reflection of people ’s awareness regarding environmental issues. As an illustration, official authorities of numerous countries increase funding for renewable energy, namely wind, hydro and solar power, which can make the public reduce their dependence on fossil fuels. Moreover, some governments also offer incentives and subsidies to businesses which execute eco-friendly practices, such as utilization of energy-saving machines. As a consequence, this may encourage a growing number of organizations and incorporations to be aware of this topic. Furthermore, people around the world also pay significantly more attention to environmental crisis nowadays. Firstly, the increasing number of people are more willing to take public transport to rather than drive their private vehicles than they used to be. For instance, a significant proportion of people in Taiwan indicated that even though driving is much convenient way to commute, they still consider take underground and cycle to their office a better choice due to environmental concerns. Additionally, more people establishing start-ups spend their time inventing innovative products which is beneficial to the environment sustainability. This phenomenon can predominantly reveal that the general public are actually concerned about the environment. In conclusion, while human activities have greatly contributed to environmental disasters and some people suppose everyone has not taken their responsibilities enough yet, I do not support this viewpoint since there are plenty of measures that governments and the public have already taken.