In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by some that extremely high salaries earned by a small proportion of the population are great for the country. However, many others agree that salaries above a certain value should not be allowed by the government. In my opinion, salaries should be equally distributed amongst the masses and this can only take place if the authority intervenes. On one hand, a minority earning a high income is useful when it comes to the power dynamics of a country. A small population will have a monopoly over what comes and goes into the state. These highly paid individuals can help fulfil infrastructural requirements, fund charities and complete various tasks that cannot be accomplished by the government. For example, large companies often act as benefactors to various state-run foundations. On the other hand, if the authority starts regulating the payrolls of individuals across a country, poverty will slowly diminish leading to a socialist reform in the state. In this kind of, setup the income of people will be evenly distributed and the extremely rich lot will be eradicated leading to a drop in corruption and various other malpractices. For instance, the class system that exists in most societies and has led to a multitude of problems will cease to exist as a result of income being equally distributed. Therefore, to conclude, both viewpoints certainly raise valid points. However, according to me, the state should not absolutely regulate the payrolls of the population but help in equal distribution of wealth which will help greatly in not only reducing poverty in the nation but also the crime rate.