The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental preservation is one of the most concerning and urgent problems that challenge humans nowadays. For the sake of our planet, increasing the price of fossil fuels like oil and petroleum is considered the most effective solution. However, as far as I am concerned, I strongly disagree with the measure mentioned above, as it does not completely solve the root of the situation, and there are a plethora of other solutions which are much more effective. To begin with, raising the cost of fuels may be theoretically beneficial to the world's current environmental issues, but it just merely resolves the situation temporarily, and it cannot work in the long term. It is undeniable that people tend to choose another option to transit rather than taking private vehicles due to the high petroleum price. This might result in lower oil consumption, as well as less non-renewable energy being used, which might lead to a decrease in the exhaust fumes emitted into the air, and slow down the worldwide ozone depletion. Nevertheless, fuel consumption is inevitable, as it plays an instrumental role in every aspect of our lives, such as manufacturing industries or agricultural purposes. If the cost of fuels climbs up, it might provoke a decrease in our living conditions. On top of that, I myself believe that this is not the best way to address issues related to the environment, for there are other approaches that I find more effective. Utilizing green resources such as wind or solar energy is a perfect example. Not only are these sustainable resources environmentally friendly, which release no toxic pollutants to the atmosphere, but they are also unlimited. For instance, instead of using coal, wind and solar energy can generate a considerable amount of electricity. To summarize, although increasing the cost of fuels does cut down the energy stemming from non-renewable resources, I assume that it is not the best measure to deal with environmental problems. Using renewable energy is also a feasible solution to protect the planet that we should take into consideration.