Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released. Why is this case? What can be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, many offenders are likely to be more engaged in illegal activities after serving their first sentence. This happens due to several reasons like applying insufficient methods to rectify the guilty’s behaviour. The key to tackling this problem lies in creating an in-depth approach in order to understand the person’s psyche and purposes behind committing again. There are several reasons why offenders continue to commit crimes after being punished. First and foremost, a wrong strategy can worsen a person’s mind by soaking him with the feeling of anger and revenge. For example, a harsher treatment for minor crimes can motivate them to re-offend their misdeed. Similarly, short-term sentences for major crimes may not influence their behaviours. Furthermore, there may be a human need involved in the act of crime, which cannot be addressed by just sentencing the guilty because they do not know the ways to overcome the difficulties in their life. To deal with such cases, it is necessary to create a more intrinsic approach that can deter people from repeating their wrong behaviour and respect the rules. Firstly, the form of punishment should be based on the root cause or purposes of doing illegal activities. This is more likely to change their mind for a positive outcome. For example, community rehabilitation centres should assess offenders’ mental abilities through psychological tests to ensure that the wrongdoers are mentally and emotionally fit before getting back to their normal life. TO sum up, there are many factors that lead crimes to be committed again such as social situation, family background. Therefore, it is vital to pay attention to what kind of mistake and take appropriate corrective methods