Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends, whereas now many suffer loneliness and health problems. What are the causes of this and what are some solutions?

Whilst it is arguable, our modern society is breaking down with mental illnesses and well-being problems such as depression or obesity, our grandparents lived a better life compared to our generation. The new lifestyles chosen by us is fighting the state of health because of the absence of outdoor activities including hanging out and spending time with friends and family as well as lack of exercise level. The causes that drive this issue can be quite varied but one the major one is the low involvement of outdoor activities and this can effects two noteworthy aspects of our life, before getting to those points, let seek the reason behind. Now a day’s people are forced to work longer hours in order to keep up with the pace of fast-speed changing life. More hours at the job leaves us with limited time left to divide into different parts of life. Sadly most of this valuable time is consumed by social media and networks like Facebook or Instagram, rather than being used for socializing and getting people out to start a vigorous exercise and promote better health. A solution for this growing issue is vital and will not be achieved easily. Surely the government must take action into this problem and sort it out by encouraging programs, for instance lowering the taxes of gyms and sports clubs. Furthermore to control the situation the fundamental education at young ages can reduce the absence of outdoor activity’s adverse reactions by creating a different mindset. Besides the NGOs can raise awareness about the social and personal outcome of the loneliness and related problems caused by this situation through exercise campaigns and calling public sports activities. In conclusion, no one denies that in spite of our advanced development, we have to work harder and longer to reach personal goals and fulfilment, keeping the balance is essential as well. A night out with friends after a busy day at the job and eating out with the family to finish off the day or hitting the day by a walk or a run before work with a colleague wouldn’t hurt but with no doubt, it will benefit both mental and physical health level.