In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is considered very important. Why might this be the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

People in some nations consider owning a home much more important than renting one. Living in a self-owned home gives a feeling of stability, comfort and accomplishment. In my opinion whether it is a positive or negative position depends on many factors. The major reason that people prefer purchasing a home rather than renting it is that the ownership of a residence is many people ’s desire. To illustrate, especially in Thailand, when people begin their working life, saving money in order to afford a house is their first goal because having their own house is a fundamental factor for building a stable family. Additionally, owning a house may help people do not waste time in accommodation hunting, resulting in they can focus on other aspects of life such as career, family. From my perspective, whether owning a home is a positive or negative situation is quite subjective, depending on the circumstances of the person. For example,for people who can afford to buy a big house and have few financial liabilities, their house is an asset and owning a house is a positive situation for them. On the other hand, owning an accommodation would be a negative trend for some individuals who have low income, resulting in they do not have enough money to buy an apartment or a house. Therefore, they would go to a huge loan and end up repaying the amount over a very long time. This increases the interest they have to pay To conclude, I feel that owning a home can be a pleasurable experience if done within a budget. However, it could turn into a negative situation when a person buys a home by getting a loan that is way beyond his repaying capacity.