International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

All around the world, tourism has become very important and even necessary for some countries due to its numerous benefits. Though it is true that it can have terrible consequences on the local population and the environment, I still think it has a greater positive impact. All of the activities that come with international tourism are able to stimulate the entire economy of a country and provide major financial help. Indeed, these people traveling from abroad and consuming, not only generates a huge amount of income for small and big businesses but it also creates a great deal of employment. This makes some nations dependent on tourism. For instance, according to a study published by San Diego university, international tourism in the city of Cancun, Mexico, gives employment to more than 40% of its inhabitants and represents 55% of the wealth produced. Nevertheless, international tourism also has negative side effects on nature and well-being of the citizens. The prices of rent go up and people can be disturbed by the agglomerations of tourists in the city who undoubtedly disrupt the calmness and the beauty of being at home. In addition, in most cases, the construction of infrastructures to accommodate and receive these guests, damages the natural landscapes and contaminates the environment. For example, in my summer place down in San Jose, Almeria, with more and more tourists coming every year, they are building homes and hotels everywhere damaging some wonderful untouched beaches. To conclude, while it is true that the environmental and social consequences of tourism are concerning, it is clear that these are outweighed by the crucial economic contributions that this lucrative activity brings to the table.