Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A lot of people choose academic studies at university, whereas others believe that occupational training should be more necessary due to the lack of skilled workers such as electricians and plumbers. I totally agree with the latter idea due to two main reasons which I will outline in the following essay. The main reason why I think vocational courses should be encouraged is that it allows us to save our time and budget. As usual, it often takes you four or five years to complete your curriculum in academic schools. That is to say, you have to allocate an enormous amount of money at about over 200 millions VND for a long time. However, it is not the case for training courses which only require you to study in a much shorter time with less expense. Unlike universities, the main feature of vocational training is the mixture between theoretical understanding and practical knowledge; therefore; you are more likely to practise, gain solid experience, and sharpen your skills and abilities while studying instead of spending one more year on an apprenticeship like in universities. That is the reason why you are able to become competent manual employees as soon as you finish your course without wasting a great deal of money. Another reason could be involved is that training provides society with experienced physical staff who are important factors contributing to the development of the nation. It is undeniable to say that many university graduates can not find a job due to not having sufficient experience. However, students who pursue labour - intensive education stand a good chance of meeting the demanding needs of companies such as soft skills. This leads to less unemployed workers in the near future. As a consequence, these students have better job prospects when being excellent electricians and plumbers who play an important role in building structures and facilitating the infrastructure of the country. In conclusion, going for higher education has certain merits but I am still in favour of stimulating boys and girls to opt for professional courses because it is time-saving and enhance the progress of society.