It is important to be concerned about international events, even if those events have no direct impact on our lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is widely believed that we are not concerned about international events as long as they are unlikely to directly impact our lives. However, I firmly believe that knowing about events in other countries is very necessary. This is because knowledge of international events allows nations to support other countries and even come up with solutions to their own problems. To begin with, being concerned about international events allows us to help other citizens around the world. Humanitarian crises, natural disasters and conflicts are, unfortunately, frequent occurrences in many places around the globe. By paying attention to these events, it is possible to share resources to assist others in times of need. For example, the 2008 earthquake in Sichuan, China, caused a lot of damage. However, a quick reaction from the international community helped China rescue more victims than they would have been able to save if they were working alone. Also, other nations donated a large amount of money to implement repairs throughout the region. This support reduced the burden on indigenous people to cope with this disaster. On top of that, keeping up with events in the world would allow people to have practical solutions to the possible problems in society. Many communities have to deal with similar obstacles, so understanding clearly defeated or successful ways would orientate to better solutions. Korea, for example, faced a dilemma when the number of immigrant workers increased sharply. Some of them suffered from poor treatment, while others remained in the country without a visa. After looking at international examples from other countries such as England and Germany, which experienced a similar situation in the past, the Korean government was able to introduce laws to protect the rights of immigrant workers while also reducing the number who overstayed illegally. To sum up, being concerned about events that are happening in other countries can support other citizens around the globe. Meanwhile, providing useful information could be applied to solve problems in the country. For these reasons, it is imperative to maintain the concern of events happening in other countries.