Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention in school. What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this

It is true that an increasing number of students are now facing difficulties paying attention in classes. There are several reasons for this alarming issue and a number of solutions could be adopted to improve the situation. The phenomenon can be attributable to two principal factors: the priority reason is theory-based lessons that lack relevance to real life. Almost all teachers have an approach to traditional teaching with tedious theoretical lectures which fail to motivate neither pupils’ interests nor creation. This could be seen in some main subjects, such as Mathematics, Physics, Geography, and so on, in which children only learn the definition, calculation formulae or even the history of inventors instead of doing experimental lab works to encourage their understanding as well as imagination. Another explanation is the overload of learning schedule that also has a negative impact on less concentration of pupils at schools. Besides the main lessons, students are forced to attend extra classes outside school to meet their parent's expectations for the highest position or grade as in academic competitions among classmates. As a result, they are not able to focus on official classes due to exhaustion from studying for more than eight hours a day. Several measures, therefore, should be tackled to prevent these problems. First of all, educators should redesign lecture content to be more practical. Tailoring teaching styles combined with applying technologies to deliver interesting lectures also contribute a part to stimulating children’s concentration. For example, departments of science could conduct more extra activities such as field trips in laboratories, aquariums, or research institutes in which children have practical experiences and enrich their knowledge about the real world. Admittedly, not only these students will be more likely to focus on their majors, but they also ensure higher chances of success after graduation. Furthermore, both parents and teachers should limit their interference in offspring studies. If students have their own choice in interest studies and future careers, as well as an equal timeline between learning and leisure time, the capacities of acquiring knowledge in-class activities would be improved significantly. In conclusion, it is clear that a great number of students nowadays pay less attention at school because of the irrelevance of lessons to their needs, and the excessive amount of learning. Both parents and educators, therefore, should have appropriate solutions in the timeline and curriculum so that pupils will become more attentive.