Opinions vary on whether students should have a gap year before going into higher education. Discuss the possible advantages and disadvantages of taking a year out. Do you believe that taking a gap year is good idea.?

Some people have various opinions concerning students having a gap year before entering higher education, the following paragraphs will discuss the different views and I will give my own opinion. Firstly, it is a good thing for pupils to stay off school for one year before entering a university to allow them to rest their brains after the pressure and stress they went through in their final exams in their high school. it also gives them enough time to make good choices on the institutions they want to attend for their higher education. They also have opportunities to unite with their classmates after school, to discuss the right courses and academy they need for their progress in life. On the other hand, giving a year gap can affect the growth and development of most students as resting and staying off school for a while can create or cause a setback in their educational backgrounds as regards their studying in institutions of learning. Picking up when they eventually secure admission may seem very difficult and that will make the child not have good grades especially at the beginning part of her/his stay in the university. The issue of having difficulty in the majority of the subjects might set in they have forgotten most of the tutorials they learnt in their secondary school. Finally, I am of the opinion that in as much as it is good to rest awhile before your higher education, but securing a higher institution immediately after school is great and gives students positive chances of performing excellently with good grades.