Nowadays many people prefer to shop in supermarket rather than small shops or local markets? Is this positive or negative for development? Discuss and give your opinion.

Today we can witness the fact that mega-stores are becoming more popular among individuals rather than minor outlets or open markets. The main reason for this alarming trend, in my opinion, is comfortability in concert with a substantial discount scheme. To begin with, few people would argue with the fact that most supermarkets are provided with a well-designed layout. To be more precise, for the most part, goods are located in appropriate departments, which certainly makes it less challenging for consumers to find a necessary product. For instance, if one wants to buy a dairy product along with household chemicals in an open market, they will be forced to look for commodities in various minor outlets, which is definitely time-consuming. Additionally, many supermarkets offer a special discount system by providing their consumers with diverse membership cards. Consequently, I consider this trend as a positive influence in attitude towards society. Not only can people assign their precious time, saved during shopping in a supermarket, to their dear ones, but they are also enabled to buy goods at a decent price. As a result, it will positively impact their frame of mind together with their family budget. However, we cannot neglect one drawback regarding local markets or small shops. The deficiency of consumers will lead them to shut down and as a knock-off effect, it might increase the unemployment rate.  In summary, I deem that bargain prices and convenient location of goods make consumers prioritize supermarkets over local markets and minor outlets.