Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others,however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give opinion.

People have different views about how to improve road safety. Some believe that imposing stringent laws is the best way to avoid shipment disasters while others think that there are better alternatives. From my perspective, tough laws should be there to punish driving criminals whereas a combination of other methods would bring better results. To begin with, severe punishments can serve as a deterrent to prevent drivers from breaking traffic rules. To be specific, punishments such as monetary fines, suspending driver's license and imprisonment can bring negative effects to offenders' daily lives and personal records, which can effectively deter them from reoffending. For example, knowing drunk drivers could face a maximum two-year jail time, the number of drunk driving crimes has decreased dramatically in China. Although implementing serious punishments on driving offenders is viable to some extent, it should be combined with other actions in order to address the root causes of car accidents. Some segments of society hold the view that many traffic hazards are caused by reckless driving, for example driving while using a cell phone. Therefore, governments should propagandize unwanted consequences and tragedies caused by careless driving to educate people that a tiny mistake could lead to a huge disaster. Moreover, some road accidents happen because the drivers are not skilful enough to handle the steering wheel properly. To solve this issue, policymakers should increase the standardization of passing the driver's permit test. By doing that, people can only obtain their driver's license once they become adept drivers. In conclusion, while punishing driving offenders are helpful to prevent traffic casualties, I firmly believe that other measures should also be considered.