Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

There is an ongoing debate in the academic world about how much information is acceptable to share with your peers. One group believes information should flow freely between different research teams to further benefit our society. However, some think there are bits of information a team should keep to themselves in order to advance their projects. A profound discussion about both points of view follows. When research teams share all the information they have available, they contribute to the development of other projects in their field. For example, a team that has proven a drug is not helpful to cure an illness, allows another group to speed up their investigation process as they can now test a different substance. Therefore, the more information the scientific community shares, the faster we will see advances. Despite all the obvious advantages it has to share all your information, the research field is heavily impulsed by greed. This means researchers are often fighting over grants. Consequently, having the best thesis could ensure you have access to more funds than your competitors. Hence your research team will wish for nothing and will be able to dedicate all their time to work instead of worrying about funding. In conclusion, there has to be a shift in the research community and the culture it is currently fostering. The scientific workforce should be able to share information more freely without fear of being disadvantaged by this. For instance, international hubs where researchers can talk about their progress and participants cannot claim authorship of the work exposed. At the moment, there are very few safe spaces to talk about your research, moreover most supervisors advise against talking about your investigation projects with people outside your organization. Thus, we need to create the right culture and ways to share the information if we want to see true change.