Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivataion for commiting it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has become far more normal for some people to think that there should be a mandatory penalty for all crimes. Others, in contrast, argue that the conditions of a specific crime and the reason for committing it should always be taken into account when deciding on the sanction. This essay will explore both perspectives with clear examples before giving a personal viewpoint. On the one hand, one key reason for prioritising the use of fixed sentences helps to reduce crime among people. That is to say, when these laws are introduced, individuals become more afraid of the consequences of an offence. For example, in Spanish, the death penalty has been established, so the number of wrongdoings has declined in society. As a result, the set penalty should be prophylaxis. If it were not for strict retribution, the infractions would be disruptive to the community. Given that if we try to restrict illegality, citizens will be encouraged to work honestly. On the other hand, the main reason why each criminal act leads to different situations. Namely, if a person steals because of starvation, this act should not be considered as severe as other violations. For instance, some nations take into account mitigating circumstances. As a consequence, these acts supply justice and influence others more positive way. If it were not for justifying conditions, there would be disagreements among inhabitants. To sum up, I would say that not only does just punishment punish crimes, but it also helps resocialization into social life.