Some people think that computer can translate languages , so children need not study foreign languages any more. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement .

With the rapid development of technology, some people think that learning a foreign language is a waste of time. I partly agree with this statement. Nowadays, due to technological development, people can use artificial machines to communicate with people from all over the world. There are many translation applications in the media market which could be selected by users, and it supports translation to different languages and even minor languages. For instance, the popularity of Google translation has tones of thousands of users in the world due to its various functions. Internet users can easily read any international news and browse global websites with the Google transition. Therefore, it is unnecessary to spend time on a different learning language. On the another hand, the process of mastering a language brings enormous benefits to people. Firstly, students can develop their logical thinking skills during learning. If a Chinese student learns English, French, or Dutch, they will be thinking in a whole new way because of different grammar systems and sentence structures. Therefore, the process of learning is more significant than educational outcome. Moreover, when we are trying to translate conversations, it will result machines cannot convey the speaker’s attitude. If the speaker says the same thing in different tones like surprisingly, delightedly, and sadly, the machine will not be able to recognize people ’s emotions. Therefore, we have no ideas about what the speakers really meant.