Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many youngsters tend to reach higher levels of educational attainment more than ever before. Some individuals proposed that university admission should be based on the same number of seats for each gender per subject. I, however, strongly disagree with this viewpoint as, in my opinion, acceptance ought to be established in applicants’ interests and qualifications. A good reason that the idea of having an equal proportion of males and females in each academic field is not practical is that either gender has its own specific interests and preferences. Allocating seats to boys and girls without considering their tastes and favourites may lead to a reluctance to continue education, hinder their learning ability, and insufficient candidates of the desired gender in the field. It, moreover, can result in vacancies in study areas and expose higher education institutions to the risk of losing their profit and reputation. So, for example, in case a man is placed in a so-called feminine subject, such as art or design, his impending failure is expected since, in reality, many fields of study are more popular among one gender than the other. Another point to consider is that equality in the number of genders in each field is opposed to merit-based selection. Every student, in other words, should be designated in the subject according to their qualification. For instance, rejecting a female applicant in favour of a male student with lower grades and fewer abilities is neither rational nor beneficial. In conclusion, it is believed that there should be the same number of students of each gender in every field of study. However, I entirely disagree with this assertion since it may result in a disinclination to remain in the subject as well as more academic failures.