With the pressures on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays education is considered a crucial aspect of our modern lives and educationalist are facing the question of whether to drop non-academic classes from their curriculum so as to alleviate some of the pressures mounting on the young learners. This essay will discuss why the proposal of discarding these subjects may not produce better graduates. It is undeniable that subjects such as Maths and Physics are of fundamental importance especially for further post-secondary studies of Engineering and Computer Sciences. However, no less important is the fact that the learning environment should be conducive to a healthy and happy learning experience, of which physical education could be a part of the students' daily schedules. For instance, by playing football, individuals will not only benefit from intense exercise, but they will also acquire the necessary skill for cooperation and collaboration. If physical training were removed on the basis of not being academic, the majority of the pupils may be physically weak or they may have problems working in a team later in life. Moreover, students should be allowed to develop their individual interests with the guidance of the teachers. Some may be interested in cooking or drawing classes, which offer a means to express one's ideas and creativity. Timetables should be punctuated by academic and non-academic slots so that the study process does not appear as monotonous boredom which is possibly the main reason why children play truant. Additionally, if children were forced to learn those unappealing topics, their overall academic achievement will suffer since coerced learning will only lead to poor academic performance. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the removal of non-academic subjects from the syllabus because they can affect the students' physical wellbeing as well as disrupt creative minds and will only culminate in inferior academic outcomes.