Open plan office no walls, no barriers. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

For the time being, the construction of an office has never failed to provoke controversial debates among people. It is argued that erecting an open office that has no walls may result in a borderless environment for a company. While this thinking is valid to a certain extent, I would contend that it does more harm than good to the white-collars. Obviously, a workplace with no walls is of tremendous benefit to the relationship between white-collars. Specifically, discarding physical obstacles in the working environment stands dedicated employees good stead since it encourages co-workers to have direct conversations about not only job-related topics but also dire problems in daily life; hence, those who work in the same corporation would be able to have a better understanding as well as a decent connection with each other. For example, in some auditing firms such as KPMG or Deloitte, an open workplace does wonders for the communication of participants on grounds that people can not only easily ask for necessary assistance but also make a realistic recommendation for others’ projects. Therefore, it is undeniable that working in an open office can facilitate an amicable working environment for job-holders. While the redeeming features of working in a borderless workplace is widely acknowledged, its counterpart still lingers. Evidently, without any obstacles, workers are usually surrounded by an eclectic mix of people as well as irritating noises, which results in their being distracted from work. As a consequence, full participants might have a tendency to perform less productively in their given tasks of importance. For instance, if a department of an enterprise holds a party with a view to celebrating a successful achievement, other employees would have to suffer from several nuisances attributed to that joyful celebration. Thus, it is irrefutable to note that an open office tends to act as a disturbance to diligent workers. To sum up, despite having a positive influence on the working environment in internationally acclaimed firms, open working areas ought not to appear in corporations owing to their drawbacks in the productivity of employees.