Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there are plenty of choices for students to pursue their further studies and some people believe that university students should study whatever subject they prefer. Whereas, others claim that scholars should only be allowed to choose courses that are beneficial to their future like science and technology. I believe both views have their own importance and this essay will discuss them in detail and provide a firm opinion. With regard to the claim that some people think scholars should study whatever they like, many students these days have goals and aims in their lives especially when it comes to studies and careers. When they have a strong passion for a particular field or subject, they tend to do better in life. For example, if a student has a long time dream to become a lawyer, he or she will be aiming and working hard on the subjects related to law. Consequently, an exceptional score better can be obtained for this student. Therefore, choosing subjects to study should be entirely their choice so that it can contribute to their ambition and future. While some believe that students should have broad options for studies, there are certain people who claim that university students should focus on science and technology which is more useful to their future. Proponents to this claim believe that our current world is drastically advancing in technology and the future is expected to be conquered entirely by science. To illustrate, we are witnessing the prolific developments of artificial intelligence and machine learning that are being implemented in many fields of careers. Although there are jobs that are not related to science, the devices which are being utilized in the workplace are all involving modernized technologies. In my opinion, I firmly believe that these subjects should be students ’ priorities in order for them to have a useful future. If graduates failed to acquire relevant knowledge, obviously they are left behind in their careers. Thus, according to some people, this is the major concern for narrowing the options for students to only subjects that are futuristic. To conclude, it is certainly true that students should be given chances to select the subjects of their preferences. Nevertheless, as science and technology are tremendously developing, they should consider pursuing subjects related to these areas in order to enhance their career paths and increase the chances of being marketable in the working environment.