Countries should produce the food that their population eats and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the widespread use of internal production has become popular among different communities. Some people think that governments should avoid importing agricultural production and generate food for their people. I disagree with this idea for several reasons, as I will discuss in my essay. First of all, this is true that governments should be independent and generate their products for their citizens, but it is impossible. This is mainly because several vegetables or fruits grow up in specific environments. For example, bananas or some strange fruits cultivate in the tropical zone. So, they have to import some raw materials from foreign countries. Secondly, natural resources are limited, and the population in some areas is overcrowded. Thus, importing some food is vital to societies. A particularly good example here is that the people who live in the south of Iran suffer from a lack of their basic needs like dairy products. So, governments should provide food for them by performing new programs. Finally, governments should not discourage their traders from restricting their commercial processes. Business is so vital to societies because this industry provides job opportunities for numerous citizens. For example, Digital is one of the substantial commercial companies, and it has over 2000 employees. In conclusion, governments are unable to produce a wide range of food for their people. So, they should import several items from other countries that I explain in my essay.