With growing numbers of people convicted of crimes, prisons are getting full. People are beginning to call for the use of more alternative forms of punishment that do not involve a prison sentence for non-violent crimes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a system?

It is true that jails are hitting the limit due to the growth of incarceration. Societies suggest different ways of serving sentences for minor offences, other than imprisonment. Like most things, this phenomenon has both benefits and downsides. In this essay, I will discuss both sides before reaching a conclusion. One core benefit refers to the enhancement of the punishment system, as prisons are not the only destination for criminals. It would appear that less reliance on imprisonment will probably lead to the emergence of less strict sentences, such as monetary penalties or home detention. Thus, lawbreakers might become more optimistic regarding their post-jail life. Furthermore, the other possible advantage is to raise the state budget by imposing greater penalties for less violent illegal acts. In this case, authorities will be able to invest more in the rehabilitation of the offenders. For instance, in the USA, a set of new policies on the training and rehabilitation of prisoners was introduced, basically funded from the fines imposed on people performing minor illegal acts. On the other hand, there are some obvious drawbacks to lightening the conviction. Firstly, providing less severe punishment alternatives might encourage recidivism. In other words, former inmates may tend to reoffend as soon as they serve their punishment beyond the walls of the jail. Moreover, wealthy people can abuse these laws and commit numerous crimes, realising that monetary compensation will not lead to financial strain. Additionally, less committed state officials might be engaged in corruption, once imprisonment is limited. Consequently, poor transparency in the judicial system will damage public trust. In conclusion, the proposal of variable sanction options by the public offers such positive aspects as a hope for offenders and a source of income for the government budget, and the negative aspects, like abuse by inmates as well as authority executives.