Scientists have been warning for many years about protecting the environment, and we must limit the use of energy in our daily lives. Despite warnings, many people do not do this. What are the reasons for that, and how many people can be encouraged to take on invest in protecting the environment?

With the increase in industrialisation, globalisation and urbanisation, the environment has been affected badly. There have been several research conducted with which the scientists have proved the effect of global warming and climate change. Despite the warnings, the efforts towards reducing it has been negligible. One on hand, globally leaders are meeting up to strategise on reducing the carbon footprints and plan towards a carbon neutral country by 2070. However, it does not reaches a layman. Many people either due to ignorance or merely due to need in shift, do not accept the impact of global warming. For instance, more and more persons are now building up fully automatic tech-savvy homes which run on high consumption of electricity. Another reason for this could be due to lack of awareness or knowledge of the harm it causes to mother Earth. On the other hand, the government should take initiatives to spread the message and educate citizens to sensitise them on the issues. Around the globe, nations are targeting to limit the use of non-renewable sources of energy and move towards renewable energy like solar, wind, etc. For example, several community lead programs and policies can be desgined for decreasing the consumption of energy in the day to day lives like switching off lights when not in use, replace bucket instead of showers to save water. In addition to this, to promote eco-friendly living, city administrations should incentivise citizens following it. In conclusion, each individual should contribute and act responsibly for the well being of nature. If we will invest in protecting it today, it will save a better world for the future of our kids.