Some say the purpose of education is to prepare individuals to be useful to society. Others say the purpose of education is to help people achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

The reform of the educational system is an ongoing process to suit our ever rapid changing society. While some experts consider the sacred creed mission of our schools is to prepare the next generation to benefit the nation, others, however, believe that the purpose is to guide every student to reach his or her goal. In my point of view, the duty of our educational institutions is bifold to fulfil the learner and to aid our community as well. As a starting point, many pedagogical experts argue that we have to establish a strong directed curriculum aimed to direct the pupils to help their surroundings. Their argument is that our world is facing serious challenges and we have to prepare our children to be altruistic and see the bigger picture rather than being self-serving individuals. For instance, our world faces global warming issue, so we have to educate the students to deal with this severe problem in the school books. Conversely, some people confirm that schools should provide the learner with the needed skills to achieve his or her aspirations. Moreover, the syllabus in our universities has to evolve to suit every student and help him to absorb new skills and abilities which will help him in his career. Consequently, this process will create a well-educated generation who is able to deal with their environment. In my perspective, the essence of education should help both society and the individual as well. Not only will we reap the benefits as a community but also the scholar will be satisfied with his life. In conclusion, as our world evolves so expeditiously, the schooling system has to change to deal with the emerging problems we have. In my view, we have to update our classes to provide the tools to the pupil to aid his people and equally important to pursue his prefered profession.