Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. Do the advantages of living away from home for university studies outweigh the disadvantages?

University-age students often live with their parents and relatives; however, some have to change their address for their studies when their university is outside their region. While there are some obvious drawbacks to this phenomenon, it is not without its upsides. Admittedly, there are some disadvantages for the students to live away from their home for their studies. One of these is financial hardships. As many students do not have a stable income to support themselves, they cannot pay their bills on time, and not afford their basic necessities, such as food and clothes. They are, in effect, obsessed with earning money and as a result, they may take away their focus from their studies. Adding to this issue is the likelihood of forming bad habits. When they are away from their parental supervision, they are more likely to be affected by poor-behaved peers. Due to the exposure of these impacts, they engage in bad habits, ranging from clubbing, and smoking to alcohol and drug abuse. These tendencies, in turn, determine their overall well-being, possibly making them commit a crime. As much as I acknowledge the points above, I tend to believe that students benefit from residing far away from their homes for their studies. First and foremost, it leads to personal development. Leading an independent life, students can acquire new skills, such as cooking, driving, personal financial management, problem-solving skills as well as social ones, which are also beneficial for professional growth. Furthermore, those studying in a different place from their residence can boost their horizons by being exposed to cultural exchange. They encounter various cultures in a new place and gain knowledge about them, expanding their point of view. Therefore, it is better for students to live away. In conclusion, the advantages of moving away from home for university can overshadow its downsides since it results in personal growth and improving one's outlook.