Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with statement ?

In modern society, there are many opinions about how the government spends money on infrastructure. Some believe that the authority should invest money in railways rather than roads. It is clear that the public transport system should be supported by the councils. The first important aspect to point out is that it would be beneficial for the people if the government spent money on the public transportation system. It is a fact that the railway systems are not reliable in some countries, which has a negative impact on individuals who need to commute. Some workers need to take more than one hour to travel to work and sometimes they might be late due to the inefficiency of public transports. If trains and buses were frequent and reliable, it would be easier for individuals to travel around the city and they would not be stressed about travelling which might affect their performance at work. Another important issue is that it will protect the environment if people adopt more public transport systems. It is also a fact that private cars emit exhausted gas which has a negative impact on the environment. In modern society, since people are facing this issue, action needs to be taken that is to reduce the usage of vehicles. For instance, tourists tend to use rental cars when they travel. However, if trains and buses are frequent and convenient to use, they could adopt them in the main city rather than hiring cars for themselves. To conclude, making public transports more available to everyone has more benefits for residents, travellers and the environment. Therefore, the government should invest in the public transport system rather than roads.