More and more people are buying ready to eat foods instead of cooking themselves. Does this development has more advantages or more disadvantages?

An increasing number of individuals are consuming instant food rather than homemade ones. Although this practice saves time for busy individuals and these products serve as an alternative option in unfavourable conditions, this essay thinks that this habit has more drawbacks because these kinds of food use chemical preservatives and are detrimental to the body in the long run. On the one hand, ready-made meals serve practical option for individuals who have packed schedules. They tend to have no time to prepare and cook food by themselves. Making a meal requires someone to prepare the ingredients beforehand, hence people find it difficult to do the preparation. For example, these days convenience stores offer various instant eats such as fried rice, meatball soups, pizza, etc. They just have to heat it in a microwave for a few minutes. It is super convenient. In addition, during COVID-19 when people were restrained from going outside unless for urgent matters, they hoarded this packed meal. Thus they have enough groceries for weeks to stay indoors and lower the likelihood of getting infected by the virus. However, this lifestyle is neither sustainable nor healthy. The popular ready-to-eat meals contain additional chemical preservatives to increase their shelf life. These additives are bad for the health. The human body does not need this chemical and some of the compounds might hinder the organ functions. Moreover, in the long run, consumption of these instant products definitely has detrimental effects on health. For instance, most packed premade eats have a high-level content of salt, which is useful to enhance the flavour. As time goes by, the accumulation of salt within the body will cause someone to develop a kidney stone. This essay believes that due to these reasons, the habit of consuming premade meals has more negative effects. In conclusion, even though the existence of premade eats allows people to have the convenience of eating and to provide an option when unfavourable things happen, these products have chemical additives that are harmful for a long period of consumption and cause detrimental effects on health.