Open plan office no walls no barriers. Do the disadvantages of open-plan offices outweigh the advantages?

Recently, there have been a number of designs of working areas following the trend of the open-space style. From my own perspective, the good sides and shortcomings that result from this kind of layout are equivalent to the performance and productivity of all employees. On the one hand, an office without workers in private cabins will facilitate the connection between people. The first thing to be mentioned is better communication in terms of both verbal and non-verbal gestures. For instance, twenty colleagues work together in an open-plan room. It is the space without barriers that enables all of the co-workers to exchange information and o n-going events in the fastest way. They may feel free to express their opinions because once they speak, others can listen to them. This freedom of speech leads to the second benefit of the open arrangement. If an idea of a person is heard and discussed by his colleagues, he can feel the sense of being respected. Therefore, when this mutual respect is spread among them, it is conspicuous that the connection between each person will be enhanced. On the other hand, this type of o ffices may be troublesome to certain kinds of jobs whose priority is confidentiality. It is obvious that in a workplace where everyone is allowed to talk or to look at others’ s creen without asking for permission, t he c onfidentiality cannot be guaranteed. Take the example mentioned above. It would be hard to keep secrets as all of the employees are permitted to communicate whenever they want. Hence, the walls are required to ensure privacy. In addition, private working spaces are also essential for those who need absolute silence to accomplish their tasks. In this case, working in a place without being disturbed is completely ideal to improve t he p roductivity. In conclusion, both a davantages and disadvantages can be created by the open style of a workplace. Thus, it is the features of each job that determine which types of arrangement should be chosen.