Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

According to many, learning a foreign dialect assists individuals for livelihood and makes a trip easier whereas another group has different views about it. This essay explains how an unknown dialect can improve lifestyles of people; thereafter, it clarifies other usages of a foreign lingo such as gaining knowledge of the past. To initiate with, mastering foreign tongue can improve the livelihood of individuals when the economy of a country grows. Due to economic growth, foreigners tend to immigrate to a particular country in search of a better life. To improve future lifestyles, these countries encourage immigrants to learn a new dialect to contribute to their economy by sharing their competencies. In addition, these developed- countries set up immigration criteria in such a way so that immigrants are forced to learn foreign languages. Canada, for instance, has implemented an immigration system, in which immigrants need to score highly on foreign languages to improve their livelihoods. In contrast, sharing experience on foreign tongue not only help to the livelihood of foreign nationals but also assists to gain different competencies such as history and culture of a country from outdated artefacts, which could influence many current decision-making issues as most of the situations are aligned with the past and few new complexities have added to the problem in most cases. For example, Egypt’s Pyramids is still a mystery and the reason for building of these infrastructures. Consequently, learning from these artefacts could contribute to the living of human civilisation in the future. To conclude, learning a foreign lingo is not merely good for travelling, livelihood, and transfer of competence from one country to another. This knowledge could contribute to the running of a country ’s economy as well as share past history, which can influence the current world’s critical decisions in my view.