Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It is true that many people decide not to be employed by corporations nowadays. This essay is going to discuss the causes and disadvantages of being self-employed. There are several reasons why people choose not to work for big companies or organizations. Firstly, being self-employed will allow people to have a more flexible timetable. People can arrange their time freely instead of arriving office in the early morning. For example, some individuals may have their most productive time at midnight, and then they can choose to work at night by being self-employed, rather than working from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Secondly, it is acceptable to work at any location, such as homes or cafes. People do not have to arrive at their offices during rush hours. It also prevents getting stuck in a traffic jam. Finally, working in a company may have a career ceiling. Sometimes, it is difficult for individuals to get a promotion in big companies if they do not share a good relationship with their seniors or bosses. It is quite common for employees and their bosses to have arguments about their work. However, there are some disadvantages to being self-employed. In my view, being your own boss can cause a heavy workload. Big companies have diverse departments that account for different responsibilities—being self-employed needs to tackle these problems by yourself. Furthermore, being self-employed may not have holidays and an old-age pension. After all, all you earn is your salary. In conclusion, there are different kinds of reasons why people choose to be self-employed. However, I believe people need to consider every pro and con before making an important career decision.