Task 2: The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising but not the real need of the society where such products are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial notion heating a debate over the fact that the high sales of products reflect the contribution of advertisements rather than the realistic demand of the community. While this statement is valid to some extent, I would contend that people buy products based on their needs. Without a shadow of a doubt, advertisement plays a significant role in the increase of productions’ sales. Due to the development of technology, there is a wide range of advertisements having fascinating content or plot, which can easily attract users of all ages so they will buy the products although they really do not need them. For instance, the community may come across some videos of the products from Nike, which have a meaningful slogan “ Just do it” that can appeal to people while surfing Facebook. By watching this promotion, people may decide to purchase the products although they do not really need them. As a result, it is undeniable that commercial advertisements are beneficial for the sales of products. While the redeeming feature of promotions is widely acknowledged, the public still purchases products depending on their real demands. Undoubtedly, there are numerous significant requirements that people have to buy for their family and their daily activities. For example, toothpaste still has a pivotal increase in sales although their enterprise does not need to run any advertisements. Therefore, it is irrefutable that the community always buy products when they really need them. In conclusion, despite having fascinating promotions, almost all productions are still purchased based on the public’s needs.