People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic.

Individuals believe that longer jail sentences can provide an excellent result to drop crime rates, while others argue that there are other alternative ways. I don't agree with the statement and believe that there are many varieties of methods to decrease unlawful behaviour. This essay will discuss the perspective of both points and the outlines of my opinion. The advantages of Prison sentences are that it scares criminals in order for them to understand the severity of the situation, and encourage them to follow the rules to avoid extensions for the time in prison. This leads prisoners to think their decisions will weigh their life in jail. For example, prisoners who intentionally cause trouble after they are detained will be charged more and increase the duration of their stay in jail. Furthermore, prisoners can become better people when living in jail for long periods of time. There are therapists who support prisoners on their journey and convince them that changing into a normal person for society is beneficial when they are released from prison. For instance, many prisons have a consulting department to help convicts transition into a new person. On the other hand, extending the time of imprisonment for criminals is not the only way to stop crime. Solely relying on one solution won't be effective all the time and may backfire in preventing crime. There are several feasible ways of sustaining felony, as it can allow the police to figure out different ideas and implement them. Meanwhile, a small majority of prisoners can contribute to society. Community service is important as it opens the prisoners ' eyes to be mindful of the world and avoid committing crimes in the future. This increases the prisoner's tolerance and their outlook in open public spaces. In addition, prisoners can work in a cell for money, which boosts their confidence and sense of elation, and they are motivated to behave well and treat others with respect. In conclusion, it is safer to have more than one plan to ensure that crime does not rise. I believe it is harsh to enforce punishment against prisoners, which can damage their mindset and lead them to commit more crimes than usual. It is better to focus on rehabilitation for prisoners rather than forcing strict sentences on them. Moreover, if the government is adamant on decreasing unemployment and giving more job opportunities, crime will surely be less frequent.