In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, it has been observed that, after completing high school and before taking admission to the university, teenagers are choosing either to work or travel to someplace for a year. In my opinion, it is good to travel and explore different things, but to work somewhere is not a good option. Along with that, spending one year on such things are also not useful. On one hand, there are several advantages to taking a gap between finishing your school and starting graduation. First, if you are travelling or working, you will see and learn new things, new technology, which helps you to enhance your knowledge and experience. Second, while working in some area, you got to know what are the current trends in the market and which area has more job opportunities, this helps you to choose the field in university. Third, during travelling, you will meet different types of people and this helps you to develop your personality and give you the confidence to represent yourself in front of others. On the other hand, there are a few disadvantages. For instance, this one year break is so long that it can shift your mind from further studies and you may even lose your interest in doing graduation. Similarly, while travelling you may trap in some bad habits and can spoil your career.In the same way, without any graduation degree, you will get the job at some lower level and receive little payment which you feel is enough for you and therefore, you may think not to do graduation In my opinion, exploring work and places gives you a great opportunity to gain knowledge and you may also get the idea that in which line you want to pursue your career. In contrast to this, duration should not be that long as it may change your mind to do further studies. In conclusion, before entering university, you can work somewhere and travel to different places, with the vision to find out in which area you want to build your career.