Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs. for example, working for a charity,improving the neighborhood and teaching sports to younger children. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It would not be wrong to say that community services are a great way to explore ourselves. It is believed by many people that these charity works should be a part of the curriculum in high schools. This essay totally agrees with this statement as indulging in communal services improves the interpersonal skills and social development of students. Also, it helps them to find a purpose in life by helping others. To begin with, it is believed that activities like working for a charity for a social cause, cleaning the neighbourhood, taking care of an environment and teaching sports, helps in building important skills. In addition, skills include communication, behavioural development, and overall social profile. Moreover, these scholars have generally higher cognitive abilities compared to students who usually do not take part in extra-curricular activities. Also, this creates a sense of awareness of crucial social causes amongst them. For example, recent research clarified that the scholars who are involved in the social welfare schemes, generally are benign at helping others and adept at their craft in schools. In midst of the advancement in civilisation and because of the fast-paced life, it becomes difficult for students to find their purpose in life. However, experiences gained from serving a community have a deep impact on their lives. Moreover, It becomes easy for them to search in what areas they are excelling. Therefore, they get enough chances to prove their mettle by doing all sorts of extra work which boosts confidence. For example, it has been observed that they are generally better at taking vital decisions and have improved self-esteem. Therefore, it becomes paramount to do social works. In conclusion, more and more people are in favour of embedding social service in the curriculum of high schools. This is certainly right as it helps in building social skills and is vital in finding a purpose in life.