In many countries, more and more men are staying at home to look after their children when women work full-time. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

In many countries, gender fairness has been discussed and accepted widely. While men used to be the majority of the workforce and women took care of the house chores in most countries. However, many women nowadays tend to be the main financial income of their families. Overall, I believe it is a great and positive development for any country or society. I will analyse the pros and cons before reaching a conclusion. First of all, most jobs were agricultural related in ancient societies. Stamina and strength were needed to complete those tasks, such as moving heavy things or working on the farms and under the sun all day long. In other words, the structure of human bodies limits men to do these jobs. This means that women couldn't do anything except stay at their homes and were forced to look after the houses. Furthermore, from a cultural perspective, women were forbidden from working outside due to the societies at that period only allowed men to work. However, human society nowadays no longer only lets men work. Instead, more and more women are required to work due to technology and industrial developments. For example, many staff were replaced by machines. As a result, modern companies have many positions that do not require physical strength, such as accountants. These kinds of jobs, in contrast, need workers to be patient and careful about those tiny things. Modern women now have advantages in working. Furthermore, women have more chances to choose their own path, while men can stay at home instead of being forced to work. In conclusion, due to the fact that men can have more flexibility in work or not in modern countries, the proportion of working gender is becoming balanced. I believe that the increasing participation of women in the workforce is a positive phenomenon.