Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree! Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or expenence. Write at least 250 words.

In modern days, consumers tend to purchase products, which do not have actual demands but show frequently in advertisements. Most people claimed that this buying behaviour is a vice. However, in my opinion, this phenomenon does not always drive in a bad direction. This essay is going to explore the positive direction of the strength of advertising and the development of unnecessary products. Due to the change of purchasing habits, people are easy to be attracted by creative adverts and buy the products they don't need. Although those products are wasted and take up room, we must not ignore the massive profit behind the advertisements. For example, a BBQ sauce company put an advert to make Taiwanese interested in holding barbeque on Moon festival, which is non-essential in this special festival. Yet, this organisation successfully made its sauce well known and even had this event turned into a routine of the festival. According to a professional survey, the growth of the sauce company leads not only agriculture and meat industries but also makes the whole economy improved during the holidays of the festival. Moreover, the advertisement brings up the barbeque activities and allows Taiwanese to get together. In addition, dwellers can have time to get along with each other. On the contrary, Buying and over-trust an advert might cost a lot of money if people cannot identify their demands. This phenomenon still provides us with a good opportunity to strengthen our self-control to tell the needs and non-essentials. In summary, shopping for unnecessary goods can have nice influences. In other words, people should not focus on terrible impacts because shopping brings happiness, more than that, many industries can make a great income from advertising.