Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Freedom of choice is the basic right of every individual.While some believe that this right to choose should be given to children on daily basis,few are of the opinion that only important matters should be decided by the children. This essay will discuss both views including my view on the importance of allowing children to be decision-makers in matters that concern their future. To begin with,everyone has the basic right to live the life they want.Allowing children to decide on daily affairs will result in them becoming independent effectively reducing the role of parents decisions and their influence on them. For example,a recent study by the University of Columbia on a group of children showed that they not only became mature thinkers but also independent individuals in the later part of life. Additionally,they also become confident and bold decision-makers in their workplace.These are the reasons why children should be motivated to take and stand on their choices. On the other hand, the right to choose may result in an immature and selfish society. Children are immature and are not ready to be responsible for all matters.In fact,immaturity leads to wrong decisions and affect the future prospects of the individual. For instance,allowing the children to do whatever pleases them results in a self-centred society, who will no longer like to adhere to the rules of the society. This will result in a lawless and broken community. To conclude,basic freedom to decide is the right to live as one wants. Although, this freedom can be misused and leads to a selfish community; however,an individual learns to be more independent and confident in professional as well as personal life.