Ensuring that children have regular physical exercise should be the responsibility of parents and therefore schools should not waste valuable school time having sports lessons as part of the curriculum. To what extent do you agree?

It would not be wrong to say that daily exercise for children in schools is important. However, many believe that it is the responsibility of parents to make sure their offspring are getting adequate playtime, and should not be a part of the curriculum, as it wastes a lot of valuable time. This essay disagrees with this statement as guardians usually have longer working hours and it can get difficult for them to manage work-life balance. Also, for the proper functioning of the brain and overall fitness, it becomes important to include it in the school timetable. To begin with, in the midst of advancement in civilisation and the fast-paced lifestyle, it has become challenging for adults to look upon their children. In addition, people spend long hours at their workplaces because of a significant increase in competition. It is generally believed by adults that their children are getting enough attention in schools. For example, employees do overtime work so that they can quickly climb the ladder to success and the opportunity to earn more money, which results in giving less time to the family. Therefore, schools are bound to take the responsibility for the extra-curricular activities of students Moreover, outdoor sports activities are necessary for the development of the brain, especially of teenagers. In addition, it ensures better physical and mental well-being. Performing exercises regularly has shown huge improvements in cognitive abilities. For example, a recent survey clarified that students who play outdoor games are more likely to perform better in studies and have better decision making qualities. Therefore, studies have mentioned that outdoor activities have various advantages in terms of health and it is something which should not be neglected. In conclusion, physical exercises are vital for human growth. Although,many people think that it is something which should be taken care of by parents and not schools. However, it should be part of the curriculum in high schools as parents nowadays have busy lifestyles due to jobs. Also, the health benefits are immense.