Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, freelance jobs increase their popularity. Especially during the pandemic, a large number of people become teleworkers. Some of them are self-employed, some prefer working for an organisation. There are plenty of reasons why employees decide to work independently. In this essay, I will consider the pros and cons of this choice. To start with, freelance jobs are expected to bring freedom. When one works for themselves, they have an opportunity to choose the time for a vacation and days off. The possibility of controlling one's timetable is one of the greatest appeals. Another advantage is that workers, by and large, can decide where they want to live. For instance, plenty of freelancers work in South Asia, in countries with a warm climate, comfortable cost of living and a variety of delicious food. Such a picture is a life goal for many people. On the other hand, self-employment can be unpredictable difficult. If requires a high level of responsibility and self-control. Being a freelancer, one depends on their own skills only. One of the greatest challenges is to find a customer and a project with a justified price. Generally, self-employed workers get lower salaries than their colleagues who work for a stable company. Moreover, such things lead to high levels of stress and diseases. The symptoms can be different, for example, lack of sleep, anxiety, and headaches. Another problem is that people who work for themselves should do not only their direct responsibilities but also paperwork, like paying taxes or sending reports to the government organisations. To sum up, self-employment can be a desired destination for a majority of people. Some workers, who can control themselves, have enough skills to strive for the most valuable projects, and are ready for challenges, can be satisfied with the specific working conditions. For others, it will be better to think a lot and maybe apply for a job in a company.